Ok, I understand
Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.

Bewdley Town Council

Bewdley Elects New Mayor

By Town Clerk's Office Bewdley Town Council

Monday, 15 May 2017


Bewdley Town Council Contributor


Bewdley Elects New Mayor

During the Annual Meeting of Bewdley Town Council on Friday 12th May 2017, Councillor Mrs Anna Coleman was elected Mayor for 2017/2018.

The meeting was well attended by Town Mayors and Chairmen from across the Worcestershire and Shropshire plus the local police inspector, officers from Wyre Forest District Council and representatives from local community groups.

Councillor Coleman said that she was "honoured and privileged" to be able to represent Bewdley as Mayor and thanked her fellow Town Councillors for electing her. The new Mayor will raise funds for the Friends of Riverside North Park to develop a new splash pad for the children and also improve access for mobility impaired people to the swan pond and wildlife trail.  Her second charity is the local food bank operated by Bewdley Churches Together.

Councillor Coleman took over the role from Councillor John Beeson who she paid tribute to following his successful year as Mayor raising money for the Citizen’s Advice Bureau. The new Mayor said that as a prominent town trader, Councillor Beeson was always on hand to help people with their concerns and will be a “hard act to follow”. Councillor Mrs Linda Candlin was elected as Deputy Mayor for 2017/2018.

Bewdley’s first Young Mayor, Louisa Coleman, was also “sworn in” and received her Badge of Office. The Town Council are working with the Bewdley School and Sixth Form Centre in developing the Young Mayor scheme which is an exciting partnership and is hoped will involve more young people in local decision making. The Deputy Young Mayor, Melbryn Kruft-Welton, also took his acceptance of office.

During the meeting, four members of the public were recognised for their outstanding contributions to the community of Bewdley. Penny Griffiths from the Friends of Bewdley Museum, and Anthony Trick and Keith Young from Wribbenhall Parish Room received the outgoing Mayor’s “Thank You” Award. Keith Pinwell, who leads the Remembrance Sunday Parade and ceremony on behalf of the Town Council, received the Council’s coveted Civic Award.

Contact Information

Bewdley Town Council

Find Bewdley Town Council

The Guildhall, Load Street, Bewdley, Worcestershire, DY12 2AH


Additional Information

Office open for general enquiries: Monday - 9:00am - 3:30pm Tuesday - 9:00am - 3:30pm Wednesday - CLOSED Thursday - 9.00am - 3:30pm Friday - 9:00am - 3:30pm All other times call 01299 400157 for assistance